Powering Women and Girls for a Better World
Log in


Office Bearers

Miriam Bass, President of NCJWA VIC has been an active member of the Board since 2012 serving in a variety of roles.  She initiated a comprehensive strategic review of the organisation and facilitated the development of the current strategic plan (2015-2020).  Miriam also lead the development of new Constitutions in 2014.  A management consultant by profession , Miriam has extensive consulting and board experience across a wide range of areas including education , health, arts and culture as well as corporate and community sectors.  Miriam’s commitment to women’s issues and social justice was a primary motivator to her joining NCJWA (Vic)

Debbie Strauch, Vice President of NCJWA VIC is a qualified high school teacher.  Originally from NSW, Debbie came to Melbourne in 2007.  Following her move to Melbourne, Debbie became involved in the Jewish not for profit sector, joining the Board of NCJWA (Vic) in 2010.  Debbbie has served as a general board member and as Secretary.  Debbie is passionate about her work at NCJWA (Vic).  She initiated our Brainfood series and continues to co-ordinate these monthly events, she also co-ordinates the speakers for the UJEB Batmitzvah program in term 4.  Debbie works closely with Miriam Bass and is actively involved in fundraising.

Hannah Greenberg, Treasurer, is a teacher and a qualified accountant for over 40 years.  She has served as Treasurer since she joined the board in 2012.  Hannah was instrumental in obtaining DGR status for the Social Support Trust for the Caring Mums program. She is passionate about NCJWA and empowering women.

Helen Lewin, Secretary of NCJWA VIC joined the Board in 2016 and currently chairs the governance committee. With qualifications in law and more than 25 years’ experience in law, privacy practice and corporate compliance Helen brings a breadth of perspectives to dealing with privacy protection and information governance issues. Formerly, Deputy Privacy Commissioner (Victoria) and Chief Privacy Officer and Head of Corporate Compliance at Telstra Corporation, Helen now works as a lawyer and privacy consultant. Like other board members, Helen is passionate about the advancement of women and girls in the Jewish and broader communities.

Additional Board Members

Sally Davis, a lawyer by profession, trained mediator and graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, is a Board Observer and a member of the Finance Committee. Having also worked extensively in the financial services industry for over twenty years, focusing on dispute resolution and the identification of systemic issues, Sally is currently the General Manager and Chief Executive Officer of committees that monitor codes of practice in the financial services sector. Her role includes oversight of work plans and budgets for five independent Committees and extensive experience with regulators, industry, consumer groups and other stakeholders. Sally is passionate about providing community assurance and ensuring continuous improvement and brings those passions to the Board and Finance Committee of the NCJWA.

Moran Dvir is a proud new member of the Board and brings marketing, events and social media experience in the not–for–profit space. She combines her passion for gender equality and female empowerment with a strong determination for effecting change. Moran is enjoying working on the communications side of various NCJWA campaigns as well as being part of the Next Gen team that is engaging the next generation of women with the work of the Council. Moran is also the founder and Chair of Twelve Batmi, a giving program for batmitzvah families that has seen nearly 300 families participate in monthly volunteering experiences with NFPs.

Judy Hacker joined the Board in March 2017 as a co-opted member. Judy is a senior marketing executive with over thirty years experience in management, marketing and strategic planning. She is an experienced board member, currently serving on the board of Women’s Health Victoria and as the consumer invitee to the Cabrini Health Board. In the short time she has been on our Board Judy has made a very real impact putting her professional skills in marketing to good use for the organisation.

Elaine Jacobs joined the board of NCJWA VIC as a co-opted member in March 2017.  Elaine is a strategic thinker, connector, professional mentor and public speaker with over 40 years in business including more than 22 years in financial markets with Morgan Stanley and Merrill lynch.  She is the co-founder with daughter Sandra of the Significant Women’s Network.  Elaine is passionate about women’s financial health and well-being and enabling women’s success in the business environment. 

Anna Serry brings a background in commercial law as well as in public interest law to her role on the Board of NCJWA VIC.  Anna joined the board in 2016 and has had an immediate impact as a member of the Governance Committee and the Development Committee.  Anna has also been pivotal working as a liaison between the board and the younger group of women who formed the ‘Celebrating 90’ committee.

Karen Stock is a social worker by profession and brings a diverse range of experience in property development and in community fundraising to her position on the Board of NCJWA VIC.  Karen has a long history of community work, as a Court Networker in the County Court, former Vice President of Mount Scopus Memorial College, mentor with the Jewish Care Adolescent Program for High Achievers and a Caring Mum (to name a few of her roles).  Karen is an ambassador and a volunteer for our affiliate Unchain My Heart and is currently the Chair of our Building Committee.

Ann Wollner is a practising lawyer and clinical child psychologist and a Research Fellow at Victoria University. She has a doctorate in Psychology and special interests in family violence, international child protection and education. Ann has a strong commitment to the Jewish and broader communities having served as the President of Mount Scopus Memorial College and being involved in Unchain My Heart, Maccabi Victoria, the Ayslum Seekers Resource Centre and the JCCV Youth Alcohol Project, among many others. Ann has been a member of the NCJWA VIC Board since 2014 and is on the Finance, Building and JAM sub-committees.

Masha Lewis is attached to the Board as part of the Board Observership Program. A Managing Director within the Deals practice of PwC, Masha has over 10 years ‘experience providing asset valuation and advisory services in Australia, the USA and the rest of the world. Masha is a member of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors and an Accredited Senior Appraiser of the American Society of Appraisers. The daughter of Russian Jewish refugees, Masha brings a commitment to diversity and inclusion and a passion for people and for business to NCJWA VIC.


03 9523 0535

PO Box 2220
Caulfield Junction VIC 3161

131-133 Hawthorn Road
Caulfield North VIC 3161

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software